Retrospective 2022


ONCE OVER TIME – a retrospective

Tanz im August is devoting a major retrospective to the influential choreographer Cristina Caprioli, who since the early 1990s has challenged and extended the notion of choreography. A pioneer of postmodernism in the Nordic countries, Italian-born Caprioli founded the organisation ccap – cristina caprioli artificial projects in Stockholm. In championing an interdisciplinary and collaborative approach to research and creation, she has produced a prolific body of works spanning the domains of dance, film, text and installation. As a retrospective “Once Over Time” draws from over 22 works from 2002 to the present day and includes performances and concerts by 22 artistic collaborators. Across interactive settings and immersive spaces, audiences are invited to delve into Caprioli’s unique practice and philosophy through which she continues to reimagine dance as a mode of thinking.

5.–7.8., Leafing Silver, KINDL – Zentrum für zeitgenössische Kunst
6.+7.8., Loops: Scary Solo & Omkretz2.22, HAU2
11.–14.8., Leafing: Spoons, KINDL – Zentrum für zeitgenössische Kunst
17.–20.8., Ashes, Radialsystem
18.–21.8., Leafing: Undercover, KINDL – Zentrum für zeitgenössische Kunst
24.–27.8., Haze, HAU3

Audience Formats
13.8., 18:15 ● Meet the Artist | KINDL - Zentrum für zeitgenössische Kunst
23.8., 18:00 ◆ Special Focus: tanzschreiber-Dialog: Texte zum Tanz | HAU3
26.8., 15:30 ◆ Special Focus: Retrospectives in Dance? What are they good for? | Bibliothek im August

Videomessage by Cristina Caprioli for program presentation 2022.

By viewing the video you agree that your data will be transmitted to Youtube and that you have read the privacy policy.


Video: Jens Wazel, 2022

Concept Cristina Caprioli
Curation Cristina Caprioli with Anna Grip, Andrea Niederbuchner, Virve Sutinen
ccap Team Anna Grip, Masha Taavoniku, Anne Vigeland


Cristina Caprioli / ccap
ONCE OVER TIME – a retrospective

Edited by Andrea Niederbuchner and Virve Sutinen
Published by Tanz im August / HAU Hebbel am Ufer 2022
Softcover, 160 Pages
Price: 12,00 €

The catalogue can be downloaded here for free. If you are interested in ordering a physical copy of the catalogue, please email us at

The retrospective ONCE OVER TIME includes some of her latest works, like Scary Solo (2020), her own solo, a bare and honest take on where she finds herself today, and ASKA (2019), a stunning experience formed by two dancers and live electronic music under a huge, mobile ceiling. Her older group works, such as the att.att series (2012–present) and very very (2006), are highly technical and complex choreographies that offer an insight into her constantly evolving practice of choreographic writing.

Festival Magazine