Rosemary Butcher

For nearly four decades, Rosemary Butcher has made over 50 works and her works has been presented in more that 40 countries world wide and as a result is internationally regarded as one of Europe’s most consistently radical and innovative choreographers.  

Profoundly influenced by her time in New York, 1970–72 where she encountered the work of The Judson Group at its height where she was probably one of the few European choreographers to be studying Judson in New York at that time.  She subsequently introduced those ideas to Britain at her 1976 ground breaking concert in London’s Serpentine Gallery.  Since then, Butcher has developed her own movement language and choreographic structure. By her determination to remain an independent artist, her use of cross arts collaboration in Music, Visual Arts, Film and Architecture within the choreographic process and her frequent choice of non-theatrical spaces to present her work, she has forged her own place within the European contemporary dance scene. Butcher has recently been awarded an MBE for her artistic achievement.

An inspired teacher, Butcher’s teaching practice has always informed and run in parallel to her choreographic work. She has taught at all levels, from infants to “A” level school; students with the ILEA, University degree and PhD level at University of Surrey and Laban.  In 2003 she was awarded an Arts & Humanities Research Board Scholarship and in 2007 the post of Senior Researcher at University of Middlesex U.K. She has also regularly teaches internationally with courses on the process of choreography and with individual mentoring

Past

Rosemary Butcher

SCAN (1999/2000)

read more

Rosemary Butcher

Secrets of the Open Sea (2014) & The Test Pieces (2014/2015)

read more

Rosemary Butcher

Rosemary Butcher hat im Lauf von knapp 40 Jahren mehr als 50 Werke geschaffen, mit denen sie in weltweit über 40 Ländern aufgetreten ist und die ihr den Ruf als eine der radikalsten und innovativsten Choreografinnen Europas eingetragen haben. 

Butchers Arbeit wurde wesentlich durch ihren Aufenthalt in New York von 1970 bis 1972 geprägt, wo sie als eine von wenigen europäischen Choreografinnen der Judson Group auf der Höhe ihres Schaffens begegnete. 1976 machte Butcher die britische Öffentlichkeit bei ihrer Performance in der Londoner Serpentine Gallery mit den Ideen der Gruppe bekannt und entwickelte in der Folge ihre eigene Bewegungssprache und choreografische Struktur. Auf der Suche nach ihrer eigenen künstlerischen Position öffnete Butcher ihren choreografischen Prozess für die Zusammenarbeit mit Musikern, Künstlern, Filmemachern und Architekten. Die Ergebnisse präsentierte sie häufig außerhalb des traditionellen Bühnenraums und schuf sich so ihren ganz eigenen Platz in der zeitgenössischen europäischen Tanzszene. Butcherwurde kürzlich für ihre künstlerischen Verdienste in den Order of the British Empire aufgenommen.

Als begeisterte Pädagogin hat Butcher neben ihrer choreografischen Arbeit immer auch als Lehrerin gearbeitet und von Kindern bis zu Studenten und Doktoranden an den Universitäten Surrey und Laban in London unterrichtet. 2003 erhielt sie ein Arts & Humanities Research Board Scholarship, 2007 eine Professur an der University of Middlesex (GB). Darüber hinaus hat sie regelmäßig im Ausland zu Fragen des choreografischen Prozesses gelehrt und sich als Mentorin engagiert.

Vergangen

Rosemary Butcher

SCAN (1999/2000)

Mehr erfahren

Rosemary Butcher

Secrets of the Open Sea (2014) & The Test Pieces (2014/2015)

Mehr erfahren